The Cabinet

The Cabinet is accountable for certain functions operated by council officers. It has to operate in line with the council's constitution and has the power to set up sub-committees where appropriate.

It is made up of these councillors, who have the following responsibilities: 

  • Cllr Russ Bowden - Leader of the Council
  • Cllr Cathy Mitchell - Deputy Leader/ corporate resources
  • Cllr Judith Guthrie - Environment and public protection
  • Cllr Tony Higgins - Leisure and community
  • Cllr Rebecca Knowles - Statutory health and adult social care
  • Cllr Maureen McLaughlin - Housing, public health and wellbeing
  • Cllr Hans Mundry - Transportation, highways and public realm
  • Cllr Hitesh Patel - Transformation
  • Cllr Matt Smith - Children's services

Overall Cabinet responsibilities:

  • To make key decisions that either have a significant impact on the community or have considerable financial implications
  • Full authority to implement the policy and budgetary frameworks of the council. This means that most decisions do not need the approval of full council
  • The Cabinet can delegate decisions to an individual executive member or senior officer. However, all key decisions must be included in the council's forward plan.


The Cabinet has public meetings every four weeks. You can view the recent agendas and minutes: View the recent minutes, agendas and reports of the Cabinet

Meeting dates:

  • 21 May 2019
  • 10 June 2019
  • 8 July 2019
  • 9 September 2019
  • 14 October 2019
  • 11 November 2019
  • 9 December 2019
  • 13 January 2020
  • 10 February 2020
  • 9 March 2020
  • 6 April 2020

The Cabinet was previously known as the Executive Board.