Indices of deprivation

Indices of Deprivation

The Indices of Deprivation 2015 provide a set of relative measures of deprivation for small areas (Lower-layer Super Output Areas) across England, based on seven different domains of deprivation: 

  • Income Deprivation 
  • Employment Deprivation 
  • Education, Skills and Training Deprivation 
  • Health Deprivation and Disability 
  • Crime 
  • Barriers to Housing and Services 
  • Living Environment Deprivation 

Each of these domains is based on a basket of indicators. As far as is possible, each indicator is based on data from the most recent time point available; in practice most indicators in the Indices of Deprivation 2015 relate to the tax year 2012/13. 

Combining information from the seven domains produces an overall relative measure of deprivation, the Index of Multiple Deprivation. In addition, there are seven domain-level indices, and two supplementary indices: the Income Deprivation Affecting Children Index and the Income Deprivation Affecting Older People Index. 

A range of summary measures are available for higher-level geographies including local authority districts and upper tier local authorities, local enterprise partnerships, 4 and clinical commissioning groups. These are based on the geographic boundaries for these areas at the time of publication. 

The Index of Multiple Deprivation, domain indices and the supplementary indices, together with the higher area summaries, are collectively referred to as the Indices of Deprivation.

Further information: 

JSNA 2015 - Deprivation profile report [pdf]

JSNA 2015 - Deprivation research report [pdf]

Useful links

Department for Communities and Local Government 

English index of multiple deprivation 2015 - Infographic [pdf]

English Indices of Deprivation 2015 Frequently Asked Questions [pdf]

English Index of Multiple Deprivation 2015 Guidance [pdf]