Technical maintenance

Our online revenues and benefits portal has been taken down for maintenance today. Normal service should resume tomorrow. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Warrington to host Rugby League World Cup team

Warrington Borough Council Published: Tuesday, 14th May 2019

Warrington will be used as a training and team base when the Rugby League World Cup comes to England in 2021.

The tournament has now revealed the 16 locations that will host the qualified nations as training and team base camps. 

The opening fixtures of RLWC2021 are 900 days away and the next stage of planning has been finalised, with today’s announcement confirming the towns and cities that will be hosting the 32 competing nations.

Jon Dutton, RLWC2021 Chief Executive, said: “RLWC2021 will see nations from all over the world travel to England to compete for the sport’s most prestigious prize. Today, we are really pleased to be able to announce which towns and cities will be used as hotel and training bases for the competing nations. Each chosen location submitted a compelling bid and our decisions represent our confidence in each of these towns and cities to provide a world-class host experience to the visiting nations in 2021. 

“These chosen hosts will play such an important role in welcoming all teams and nations, offering them a base and helping them prepare in the best possible environment so they can perform at their peak on the pitch.” 

Qualification is still ongoing across the men’s, women’s and wheelchair tournaments and all nations will be confirmed in time for the draw, which takes place on 27 November. Following the draw, each of the towns and cities will be allocated to a nation, allowing planning to commence for team initiatives and community engagement events.

The other towns and cities confirmed to be hosting are:

  • Allerdale 
  • Bolton 
  • Doncaster 
  • Hull 
  • Leeds 
  • Liverpool 
  • London 
  • Manchester 
  • Preston 
  • Sheffield 
  • St Helens
  • Tees Valley 
  • Trafford/Salford   
  • Wigan/Leigh 
  • York 

For more information about Warrington’s bid, visit