The law states that Religious Education (RE) must be taught in all schools, but it is not a part of the National Curriculum. Instead, local communities have the change to influence what Warrington pupils learn in RE. They do this by working with the local Standing Advisory council for Religious Education (SACRE) to produce the local RE syllabus.

The structure of Warrington’s SACRE is defined by law, and is made up of four groups or committees.

These are:

  • The main religions in the local area and their denominations
  • The Church of England
  • Teacher and Headteacher associations
  • The Local Authority

Membership 2021

Committee A - Christian denominations and other religions and their denominations

  • Mr H Kazi
  • Mrs L Hollingsworth
  • Cllr M Hussain
  • Cllr Chapman

Committee B - The Church of England

  • Rev M Burgess – Vice Chairperson
  • Rev A Raggett

Committee C - Teacher and headteacher associations

  • Mrs K Coleclough (Sir Thomas Boteler) – Chairperson
  • Mrs C Taylor
  • Mrs S Tickle (Beamont Collegiate)

Committee D - The local authority

  • Cllr S Wright
  • Cllr D Friend
  • Cllr L Watson
  • Cllr J Dixon

Recent Minutes